Completely Unique

Before I formed you in the womb I knew you,” (Jeremiah 1:5 NIV)

My husband has been the parent to do bed-time over the years. When they were little, he stayed with them as the drifted off to sleep at night. I imagine it made the kids feel safe knowing their Dad was close-by. As they’ve gotten older, they each have a different routine they do with their Dad as they go off to bed. For my oldest son Nathan, he and his Dad play “Got-you-last”. They try to be the last person to touch the other one. You can always count on a playful argument about who the actual winner is. With Jonah, Dad blows a raspberry on his cheek before kissing him good-night. This act always puts a smile on both faces as they depart for the evening. Finally, there’s Karoline. She kisses her Dad goodnight using exactly six quick pecks. Each child has a practice that is as unique as they are.

Our God is wildly creative. He formed each of us to be completely and utterly different from any other person ever created in history or in the future. That absolutely blows my mind. Even beyond that, God has a completely custom-made relationship with each of us. Each and every relationship with Him is like no other relationship He has ever had or will ever have with anyone else. It is an original, never to be copied. Beginning in Genesis and ending in Revelation, we read story after story of men and women who had a relationship with God. There are probably hundreds of people mentioned. And yet, we cannot find one person in the entire Bible who is exactly like us. We can relate to different portions of their story but we are never exactly the same. Think about that. You were created for God’s good pleasure and no one can replace you. Amazing!

“For You formed my inward parts;
You wove me in my mother’s womb.

I will give thanks to You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
Wonderful are Your works,
And my soul knows it very well.

My frame was not hidden from You,
When I was made in secret,
And skillfully wrought in the depths of the earth;

Your eyes have seen my unformed substance;
And in Your book were all written
The days that were ordained for me,
When as yet there was not one of them.”

(Psalm 139:13-16 NASB)

God is weaving together the threads of triumph and tragedy as he writes your story. It’s a tale that has never been told before. It is yours alone. And it is completely unique.

Leave a Reply

