Prayer Warrior Wednesday ~ Remaining Hopeful

abbey

Here is a picture of my niece and her family. She’s been married to a godly man for three years and they now have two children. They are very active in their church where her husband often teaches. But this is not what I want to share about Abbey. Even though she grew up in the church, as a teen and young adult she didn’t live for Him. She had a period in her life when she rebelled.

When Abbey was in her middle school years, she went through what we call her “dark” period. She only dressed in black and listened to scary music. I remember visiting one Christmas. My daughter was going to bunk with Abbey for a couple of weeks. I went in to say goodnight, looked at the posters on the walls and thought…oy! Karoline (I think 3 at the time) looked at me and said, “This is scary stuff”.

Abbey grew out of her dark period but was not following God. She was dating a guy who wasn’t a Christian and things looked, on the outside, like they would be getting married. Even in her rebellion, God had a plan. She worked at the local gym where she met Curt. She told me the thing that attracted her to him was his love for God. It wasn’t his bald head or big muscles (ha! ha!), it was his heart.

“But when the kindness and love of God our Savior appeared, he saved us, not because of righteous things we had done, but because of his mercy.” (Titus 3:4-5 NIV)

I love Abbey’s story because she now gets to live the rest of her life for God. She understands the kindness of the Savior and the mercy of God. And she’s raising another generation to know the Savior.

Our prayer focus is for those in our lives who have walked away from the faith. I want to encourage you to remain hopeful in prayer. We can’t see what God is doing but we must trust He is actively pursuing His beloved. It takes longer for some to come around but Abbey’s story gives hope. It was Curt’s love for God that opened her heart. It was something she knew she wanted again. May the Lord fill our hearts with hope and peace as we wait!

“As the rain and the snow
come down from heaven,
and do not return to it
without watering the earth
and making it bud and flourish,
so that it yields seed for the sower and bread for the eater,
 so is my word that goes out from my mouth:
It will not return to me empty,
but will accomplish what I desire
and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.”

3 thoughts on “Prayer Warrior Wednesday ~ Remaining Hopeful

Leave a Reply

