The Right Attitude

Today was my first day back to work. I quit my job three and a half months ago, but we need the money, so I went back. It’s not a glamorous job by any means, but it’s a job. I get to watch other people’s children while they attend worship. It sounds easy right? Unfortunately, we had criers today. They cried and cried and cried and cried and cried…ugh!! But, we need the money, so I am doing it. I’m not happy about it and it will take some time to adjust my attitude. I have to pray for a good attitude because it’s hard to give up my Sundays to work in a small room with runny noses, stinky diapers and CRYING!! By the time my shift was over, I had wiped at least 50 noses and had cookie mush smeared on my shirt. I know, it could have been nose drippings all over my shirt..be thankful right? And so we need the money, so I will do it…and eventually I will have a good attitude.

So, me and my bad attitude got in the car to drive home. And while I was driving I saw this little family waiting for the bus. I only recognized them because I saw the mother of the crew retrieving one of her children near the room I was working in. She picked up her toddler from class and put her in the stroller. She had another child maybe around four years old and I noticed her because she was putting on a harness so that she could carry a baby. And I remember thinking, wow, she has her hands full, but she’s got it all figured out. What I didn’t realize is that she was heading to the bus stop with three kids in tow for their ride home. She not only got those three little kids up and ready for church this morning, she rode the bus to get there. She wasn’t cranky, or fussy or the least bit irritated. She was thankful to come to church. She just wanted to be there this morning and did whatever it took to get there. No complaining, no bad attitude, no anger just a determined spirit.

So, I was a little convicted over my attitude. I have a car to drive and a husband who gladly watches my children so I can work. I have absolutely nothing to complain about. I should be praising Jesus for the blessing of a job instead of complaining that I had to get up early. I should have a servant-like attitude and consider the blessing I get to be to parents so that they can attend church. Instead, I whine about having to go there and wipe noses. Very convicting morning…very convicting.

2 thoughts on “The Right Attitude

  1. Mary Benson

    Lori,
    I love your blog!!!
    About your Sunday; you are human; we all tend to forget our blessings at time; I think you do remember most of the time;

    As I started reading I thought; I wish we had that many kids in our church. We have very few; we are such a small church; about 55 people; scares me as to what might happen to our little church.

    You are blessed to have such a nice family, but I know you realize that; I can tell by everything else you write.

    Like

    1. Thanks for the encouragement Mary. I really really didn’t want to go back to work, but I know that God will bless me for doing all that I can to help. And I really blessed to have such a wonderful family. As much as I desired to stay home yesterday, my kids love to hear the stories of what happened at work. I do have a lot to be thankful for.

      Our church is an enormous church. You can catch the services online or through facebook. It’s Northlandchurch.net. I am thankful for such a wonderful church. My kids do love it there and my oldest son is in the youth group there. He also serves in the children’s praise time ministry. I know he’s such a great kid in part because of our church.

      Again, thank you for reading and encouraging me. I really appreciate it.

      Like

Leave a comment