Everything that Hinders

nathanchristmas

I memorized Hebrews 12:1 and in the middle of it are these words, “let us throw off everything that hinders”. I’ve thought about those words a lot over the last few weeks. I’ve been thinking about them because I knew God was asking me to do something I’ve failed at in the past (or at least I considered a failure). I spent a lot of time praying and asking if He truly was prompting me. I reminded Him of my past failures. I decided someone much more qualified should step in. I really didn’t want to mess things up or make any part of this situation about me. It must always be about Him, His plan, His purpose and His will. And so after wrestling for several days, I told God I would do whatever He wanted.

During those days of wrestling these words made me realize I had been wearing my past mistakes as a cloak. They were weighing me down preventing me from moving forward. The hurt had turned to fear and the fear was stifling me. Worst of all, I allowed it. I lived there, in the safe place unwilling to step out for fear of failure once again. That was until God told me to “throw off” the very thing that was hindering me.

So, I sit here a few weeks later, after completing the task, with a thankful heart. He truly was my strength in weakness. He did the very thing He said He would do. I doubted. I was fearful. I was sure I’d fail. But He knew the outcome. And He allowed me to step outside of my natural inclinations to do something special. The thing about it was the task He asked me to do wasn’t all that magnificent. It was something terribly simple. But the effects were huge.

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us. (Hebrews 12:1 NIV)

Leave a Reply

