Focusing on God

focus

This morning, I found myself praising God for today. I thanked Him for this moment in time where all is well. I thanked Him because I know everything can change in the blink of an eye. So today, I simply sat and thanked Him for today’s blessings.

My prayers today came about because of a conversation I had with someone. She was throwing out a bunch of what-ifs. She asked what I would do if this or if that happened. She wasn’t being cruel. In her mind, she simply wanted all of the bases covered in case something happened. I think she was surprised by my response. I told her I can’t live my life worrying about the “what-ifs”. I told her it wasn’t biblical to concern myself with things that may never happen. And I told her I would drive myself insane if all I did was think about the possibilities. The fact is they are endless.

Rather than worry about what might happen, I thought, what if for today I was completely satisfied with where I am in life. What if I were satisfied with our home and all of its needed repairs? What if I were content with my car because every single day it starts and takes me where I need to go? What if I had no expectations from my husband except to come home at the end of the day and spend time talking? What if I were absolutely without want for anything more than I already have? This perspective made me cry.

It is too easy to think about what could be or what might happen. I believe this is what Paul was saying when he said, ”We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.”(2 Cor.10:5 NASB) He’s urging us to take every unholy thought and make it obedient to Christ because he knew our thoughts, if unchecked will wreak havoc in our lives. They can cause us a tremendous amount of unnecessary stress. And quite frankly, if we are looking at what-ifs, we will not have our gaze focused on the One who is in control.

Thank you Lord for today. Thank you for your abundant love. Thank you for your provision. Thank you for holding my future. AMEN!

Leave a Reply

