Everything’s Going to be Alright!

love

The other day, I was driving down the road and started channel surfing on the radio. Sometimes I get tired of the same music being played over and over, so I search around. I found myself listening to Country Music. Now, I grew up being forced to listen to Johnny Cash and Loretta Lynn, so my tolerance for Country Music doesn’t last. But there was one song that caught my attention.

I don’t know the name of the song, but one of the lyrics said, “We just want to know everything’s going to be alright.” I don’t know who sings the song but isn’t that the mantra of our lives? We want everything to go just right. We want our kids to grow into respectable, responsible adults. We want our marriages to last a lifetime. We don’t ever want to be sick or without. We want life to go according to our version of alright. But what happens when it doesn’t? Does that mean we have fallen away from God’s grace? Is He mad at us?

I think our version of “alright” may be different from God’s. Certainly, God doesn’t enjoy our suffering, but at times, we will suffer. We will be disappointed. We will do everything right and still have to deal with difficult circumstances. We live in an imperfect world. But that doesn’t mean everything isn’t alright. I think we get so caught up in how we envision our lives, we forget God has a plan. We compare ourselves to others thinking we deserve more. But in the end, regardless of what happens God is there. And doesn’t that make everything alright?

No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. 38 For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, 39 nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord. (Romans 8:37-39 ESV)

Because nothing can separate us from the love of God, everything’s going to be alright!

Leave a Reply

