Parenting ~ Joining Together

“They all joined together constantly in prayer, along with the women and Mary the mother of Jesus, and with his brothers.” (Acts 1:14 NIV)

I can’t believe the school year is winding down. It seems like we just began and here we are looking at another summer around the corner. I have to admit I’m ready, so are the kids.

This was Jonah’s first year in public middle school. There were a lot of firsts that took place. His vocabulary (or understanding of colorful language) has been expanded. He has been exposed to a different view of the world, other religions and scientific theory. We’ve had many, many conversations about the ideas and history behind the subjects he’s been required to study. These questions have challenged both Jonah and me to dig deeper into the scriptures. Understanding why do we believe what we believe has been the theme of our year.

155

I love these kids!!!!

There was a time when I would have been very alarmed because my son was asking these questions. Ten years ago I had no desire for my children to be in public school. I’m seeing now the very things I was afraid of are the lessons God is using to mold Jonah’s faith. Four years ago when Jonah asked me if God was in his school, I told him God was there, he had to look for him. He still does that today. And when he can’t seem to see Him, Jonah prays.

This past year has had highs and lows but I’m thankful. I have learned again to trust God with my son. He has been faithful and Jonah is growing so much. Having the hard conversations with my kids has strengthened my relationship with them. They know I’m not perfect and I don’t expect them to be. We’re on this journey together and we have to join together and constantly be in prayer for each other. It makes all the difference in the world.  

2 thoughts on “Parenting ~ Joining Together

Leave a Reply

