They Lost Hope

 

Officer German killed in the line of duty

Officer German killed in the line of duty

bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.(1 Cor. 13:7 NASB)

I had heard the story on the news all week long. An officer was killed by two runaway teenagers. They had left behind suicide notes and were on a mission to end their lives. They came in contact with an officer, who no doubt was trying to help them but instead lost his life. Although I had seen the story on the news, seeing our church parking lot full of police cars made the story real.

I was dropping my son off for youth group when the scene caught my attention. I drove away in tears. So many lives have been altered by this event. In a split second, three lives were ended and numerous others were impacted. My heart grieves for the officer and the family left behind. I am also saddened that two young people felt like life wasn’t worth living anymore. They felt compelled to end their very young lives. They had no hope.

I don’t personally know any of the people involved in this tragedy. All I know is the end result. One died a hero. The others died as criminals. And it makes me sad. It hurts my heart because two young people had lost hope. They couldn’t find any reason whatsoever to continue living. They saw no future. They were not excited for things to come. Their only plan was to end their lives. Their hopelessness breaks my heart.

 I wonder how many people we come in contact with each and every day that have lost hope. And I wonder what to do about it. I just don’t know. I know there will always be those who reject the hope of Christ but we can’t quit trying. We have to continue to be a light wherever we go. It’s important to be kind and loving and considerate. But more importantly, we need to share the gospel. I’m not sure what this means in my life but I am going to pray about it. I feel like I’m not making enough of an impact. It doesn’t matter how many people we influence, there are always more who need to know the love of the SAVIOR.

Father, with so many things distracting us, help us to come back to our first love. Show us how to share your love with others. Open our eyes to those around us who need you and give us love in our hearts for those who feel hopeless.

Brandon Goode  Alex Hollinghurst

Brandon Goode
Alex Hollinghurst

 

3 thoughts on “They Lost Hope

Leave a Reply

