How Do You See Jesus?

imagesE6ZW40RWHe answered, “Whether he is a sinner I do not know. One thing I do know, that though I was blind, now I see.” (John 9:25 ESV)

This morning I read the story of the blind man. There he was minding his own business when Jesus entered the scene. It had been a day like any other. Begging was his only means of income. He was doomed to sit by the gate asking for money. He was pitied and looked down upon. Again we see Jesus’ heart as He offers healing to this man.

I wonder if the man had lost hope. I imagine he accepted his position in the community. He went out daily asking for money since he could do no job. But Jesus came along and changed that. He healed him giving him opportunities. For the first time in his life, the man not only saw the world around him but the One who created it.

After the man is healed, the Pharisees question the man, not once, but twice. They don’t believe he’s been healed. They are looking for something, anything to implicate Jesus as a blasphemer. Finally they tell the man Jesus is a sinner. I love the blind man’s response, “Whether he is a sinner or not I do not know. One thing I do know, that though I was blind, now I see.”

The blind man saw Jesus through his healing. Had Jesus not given him sight, he may have had a different impression of Jesus. But because the Lord opened his eyes, that’s how he viewed him. In his mind, Jesus was a miracle worker. He had given him something no one else had ever given; hope. Jesus gave the man a chance at life and the formerly blind man wasn’t willing to let anyone, even Pharisees take that away.

Can you think of one thing, without question, that has come from the very hand of God? Praise Him for it and don’t let anyone keep you from enjoying that blessing!

5 thoughts on “How Do You See Jesus?

  1. Excellent message! Can I think of one thing, without question, that has come from the very hand of God? Why all around me I see His creation. Just today I picked an orange from the tree in my yard. As I cut into it I thought to myself, “I don’t do anything to this tree, and yet every year it produces more oranges! How can anyone NOT believe in God!”

    Like

    • Thank you Kathleen!! My Dad didn’t grow up in a home of believers. He always told me he knew there was a God because the beauty surrounding him didn’t happen by chance. I had forgotten that until I read your comment!

      Like

  2. Your dad was wise, Lori! We can also read it in Romans 1:20 “For since the creation of the world God’s invisible qualities—his eternal power and divine nature—have been clearly seen, being understood from what has been made, so that people are without excuse.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

