Be Quiet!

But the Lord answered her, “Martha, Martha, you are anxious and troubled about many things, but one thing is necessary, Mary has chosen the good portion, which will not be taken away from her.” (Luke 10:41-42 ESV)

This weekend I taught a group of four-year-olds. It has been a couple of years since I taught a Sunday school class. I had forgotten how talkative and inquiring those little people are. Their little personalities were as adorable as their little outfits.

Our verse for the week was “Be still.” Along with the verse, I told the story of Jesus visiting and dining with Martha and Mary. We talked about Martha’s busyness and Mary’s attention to Jesus. Then I told them Martha complained to Jesus because she was doing all of the work. Jesus complimented Mary and told Martha she needed to be still too. It was an obvious paraphrase used to help the children understand.

We practice the verse several times. But there was a boy in the class who couldn’t seem to get the verse right. Every time I asked what the verse was, he joyfully shouted, “Be quiet!” So, I started to wonder why this little boy changed the words. Did he think Jesus told Martha to be quiet when she was tattling on her sister? I don’t know but it made me laugh.

There is a distinct difference between being still and being quiet. One asks us to wait on God to do something. We are still to pray but we are not to act. Another asks for our silence so God can speak. One is required to receive direction while the other encourages us not to interfere with God’s action.

I have to admit, being quiet is probably easier for me than being still. Which one do you find harder to do?

3 thoughts on “Be Quiet!

Leave a Reply

