Prayer ~ Remember

One thing111412_1758_PrayerWarri1.png God has spoken,     two things I have heard: “Power belongs to you, God,      and with you, Lord, is unfailing love”; and, “You reward everyone according to what they have done.” (Psalm 62:11-12 NIV)

I remember my first trial as a Christian. I had been a Christian for only a couple of weeks. The house I shared with a roommate caught fire. We were not home at the time but returned to a nasty mess. The house was inhabitable. It was heartbreaking and at the time devastating.  I remember asking God how He could do this. What was He thinking? After all, I was doing all the right things. I was praying, reading my bible and tithing. What more could I do? My “child-like” reasoning had me thinking God was not happy with me.

I have since learned that walking with the Lord has its ups and downs. There will be some magnificent mountaintop experiences but there will be days of walking through the thick of uncertainty holding on to my Savior by a thread. Difficult situations have a way of exposing who we believe God to be. David experienced triumphant victories. And he fought many battles, some including the near loss of his own life.  The words he wrote throughout his life bring focus into murky situations.

I don’t know the circumstances behind David’s choice to write the words in Psalm 62. I do know he had the habit of writing down his feelings during many of his trials. He wrote when he was scared. He wrote when God allowed him to win a battle. He wrote out of the depths of his tender heart. I wonder if he wrote so he would remember the goodness of God. Perhaps he needed reminding. Maybe reading over his own words of God’s faithfulness gave him strength. Whatever the reason, he made a practice of writing things down.

It’s good to recall God’s hand in our lives. Sometimes, when life is hard, we forget. Writing things down is a great way to remember. I’ve started keeping a prayer notebook. In it I have a list of things I am committed to praying for this year. My list continues to grow but it reminds me to pray. It’s also a place to write down answered prayers. I find if I write out the answers to my prayers, I can go back to them and see how God has remained faithful. I can remember.

I had forgotten about that fire until I started writing this post. However, the thoughts and feelings of that day have been overshadowed by something miraculous. I had just bought my very first bible. I had only been a Christian for a couple of weeks and my first paycheck was used to buy a bible. It was left on my dresser that day and when I returned home, everything on my dresser was destroyed except the bible. Other than a bit of water damage, it was completely intact. At the time, I remember thinking the very hand of God had protected something I held dear. Today, I’m glad I had the opportunity to write it down and remember.

One thought on “Prayer ~ Remember

Leave a Reply

