A Song of Praise

music“By day the Lord commands his steadfast love,     

and at night his song is with me,     

a prayer to the God of my life.”

(Psalm 42:8 ESV)

Do you have those days where you wake up with something on your mind? Sometimes, it’s thoughts of all that needs to be done in a day. It could be something you are dreading or concerned about. On the flip side, maybe it’s anticipation of something fun and new you get to experience that day. Perhaps that long-awaited vacation begins and your mind is filled with excitement. There are an infinite number of things that can occupy our minds.

Psalm 42 begins with the words, “As a deer pants for flowing streams, so pants my soul for you, O God.” The Psalmist was thirsty for God. He was parched and needed refreshing. He desired God more than anything. In his searching, his eyes and heart were opened to God’s love. I imagine him drifting off to sleep at night, looking at the stars and thinking about how much he is loved by God. As he recounted the day’s blessings a song filled his heart.

Lately, I’ve been waking up with a song in my heart. I open my eyes and the first thing I think of is a praise song. It’s different song each time and I find myself singing that song throughout the day. I have to say, it’s comforting and makes me feel happy. I can’t say I’ve prayed for it. But I consider it a gift from God.

Lord,

Thank you for the abundance of love You pour over us each day. Help our focus to be on you and not our problems. As we drift off to sleep at night, may we allow ourselves to recount the blessings of the day and awaken with a song of praise to You!

Amen

2 thoughts on “A Song of Praise

  1. I can totally relate to your post. There are days when God places a song in my heart and I can’t help but hum it. It feels like a dam that needs to be opened. It’s the most wonderful feeling. It’s amazing how a mighty God can make our hearts sing.

    If you’ve time, here’s my blog: http://thelovelycup.wordpress.com/I have yet to write a post on praising God.

    Like

Leave a Reply

