Prayer ~ Trusting God First

When I am afraid, I will put my trust in You. (Psalm 56:3 NASB)

This morning, I was desperate to get to my devotion time. I needed it so badly. You see, last night I found out about an unexpected expense. It was so frustrating and quickly my mind started racing. My fingers were moving swiftly across the keypad of the calculator as my brain put together different scenarios on how to solve this problem. My mind (and heart) as I later realized, were completely consumed by this bump in the road.

Although I slept well last night, feeling better than yesterday, the first thing on my mind was how I was going to handle this situation. A part of me is a bit miffed because my plans have been altered. Soon, I noticed, this frustration started to bleed into my attitude. Mild irritations became larger and more irritating. By 9:00 this morning, I was anxious to sit down, read and pray. I had lost focus and knew I needed the Lord’s gentle voice to redirect me.

My fear began in my mind. The enemy is very subtle. A small seed of fear was planted and in a very short period of time, it grew to be this monstrous thing that overtook my mind. As I sit and write this, I cannot believe how I let this get away from me.  My first response should have been, “I will put my trust in You.” Instead, I chose to look at my tiny problem rather than my enormous God.

Our prayer focus for today is trusting God from the beginning. Had I uttered a quick prayer at the start asking for wisdom, I would not have struggled so much. It would not have been consumed by my ideas on how to handle the problem. Instead, I would have focused on God, listening for His voice, waiting for His direction. That would have been a much more productive use of my time.

I am thankful for the reminder today to run to God first and He will give me guidance. He will calm my fears. He will remind me He is in control. That doesn’t mean everything will always go my way. After all, strength training comes from resistance. But, when I put my trust in Him, He will give me perspective and comfort.

“Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort,” (2 Cor. 1:3 NIV)

Amen!

2 thoughts on “Prayer ~ Trusting God First

Leave a Reply

