Quiet Waters

WP_20140105_006 (2)He makes me lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside quiet waters. (Psalm 23:2 NASB)

This year I have been um…obsessed with fishing. Hubby and I have been getting up early, getting our bait and heading to a lake. We’ve tried a few spots with no luck so last week we tried a different lake. We saw others fishing and knew we would have some luck. The day always begins with hope.

As we stood there casting our lines, the sun began to rise. The waters were still and nature began to awaken. It was incredibly peaceful not to mention beautiful. However, after a while, we were not getting any nibbles, so we headed over to the other side of the lake. Our hope was renewed when we saw a couple of piers. One was occupied but the other was empty, just waiting for us.

I was so excited to get to work. I cast in my line, looked around. This was a new view of the lake. I was trying to drown myself in the peace and quiet that comes with fishing but I couldn’t. There was a man, obviously inebriated, yelling. In the quiet of the morning, he just kept shouting. It was annoying and distracting and honestly, he was killing the mood. There was no peace. There was no quiet. There was only noise.

I love the scripture above. I thought of that verse that morning as I stood beside the quiet waters of the lake. It was a time to breathe in the beauty of God’s creation. It was calming until the noise. So many times, life is calm and then comes the ruckus. It interrupts a perfectly peaceful tranquility we have longed for. On days like this, I find myself frustrated and annoyed. I don’t want anything to disrupt my peace.

Unfortunately, life comes with peace which is interrupted by trials. It’s in those trials we strive for God. We search for Him, listen for Him and fight to draw closer despite the noise. Our trials aren’t meant to annoy or cause us to question God’s love for us. They are allowed to draw us deeper in our faith and closer to Him. They are meant to open our eyes to God’s perspective.

WP_20140105_008That day fishing was our best day yet. Yes, we had to endure the man’s yelling, but it was the first time we caught any fish. And you know, after a while, the noise didn’t even bother me. I was completely focused on fishing and a funny thing happened. The shouting began to blend in with all the other noises around me. It reminds me of the words from that song…

”Turn your eyes upon Jesus,

Look full in his wonderful face,

And the things of earth will grow strangely dim,

In the light of his glory and grace.”

May your eyes be so fixed on Jesus that the noise and trials of this world fade away! May His voice speak loudly and clearly bringing comfort, peace and clarity! And may He lead you beside quiet waters.

Amen.

4 thoughts on “Quiet Waters

Leave a Reply

