Prayer ~ Fasting

pray&fastWhen I heard these words, I sat down and wept and mourned for days; and I was fasting and praying before the God of heaven. (Neh. 1:4 NASB)

One of my goals for 2014 is to fast more often. Years ago, I was a regular faster. I fasted when a friend or loved one needed prayer. I denied myself when I simply couldn’t get a clear word from Him. I fasted when life was extremely difficult and feared the outcome. However, other than lent, I honestly can’t remember when I fasted last. What used to be something if felt compelled to do on a regular basis has been pushed aside.

Why do we fast? I guess people have different reasons for fasting. Looking through the Bible you can read the stories of those who fasted. Moses and Daniel fasted because of sin. David fasted in mourning. Esther fasted for her people. Nehemiah fasted and mourned because of Jerusalem. And Jesus fasted while being tempted. The New Testament churches fasted as they sent Paul off on a journey. And many others fasted as they sought God’s direction.

Fasting comes in many different forms. One friend is fasting from Facebook to better focus on her family’s needs. Others fast from food, television or any number of things. The times I’ve fasted have brought me clarity and certainty of God’s voice. I want so much to follow Him, do His will, and be open to His promptings. However, I often find myself in mental fog with all that life requires of me. So, I plan to fast and pray more this year. I can’t wait to see what the Lord reveals.

Do you fast? What do you fast from? I’d love to hear stories of God’s revelation through fasting.

Leave a Reply

