Verse of the Year

bibleLet the morning bring me word of your unfailing love, for I have put my trust in you. Show me the way I should go, for to you I entrust my life. (Psalm 143:8 NIV)

Well, there it is; my verse for 2013. I read it over and over. I stumbled upon it time and time again over the past year. It popped up at the most opportune times. These were the words God chose to use as a teaching tool for me in 2013.

This last year was not much different than any other. There were days when I needed God to “bring me word”. The times I doubted His presence, He spoke. He reminded me of his “unfailing love”, not only when life was hard but in times of unexpected blessing as well. When I could not see, God reminded me to “put my trust” in Him rather than what I observed with my eyes. And when I lost my way, He graciously showed “me the way I should go”. If there was one lesson I learned over the last year, my life is not my own. I want so much to do His will and “entrust my life” to Him. There were times He prompted me (or dragged me) to step out in faith.

The thing about a yearly verse is that it changes you. It takes you to new heights of understanding. Each and every lesson I learned helped me to see and experience God on a deeper level. I wouldn’t say I’m more spiritual though. I’d say I’m more aware than ever of my desperate need for Him. My eyes were opened (and believe me it’s not pretty) to my inability and incompetence. But it is in that place of need where He thrives. And for that I am eternally thankful.

The Lord has already given me a verse for 2014. You will laugh when you hear it, I did. It should make for some pretty interesting blogs this year. I’m excited and scared to see what He will be teaching me over the next 12 months.

I’ll share my new verse tomorrow but in the meantime, I’d love for you to share your verse from 2013 and what you learned. If you didn’t have one, ask God to give you one for 2014. I promise you will be forever changed.

2 thoughts on “Verse of the Year

Leave a Reply

