Prayer Warrior Wednesday ~ Those Who Mourn

Mourn

(Photo credit: Herbsttag88)

Blessed are those who mourn, for they will be comforted. (Matt.5:4 NIV)

Last evening I received heart breaking news. My pastor’s son had passed away. He was only 36 and his passing was unexpected. I sat there for a few minutes trying to let the words sink in. I was shocked and today I’m saddened. Mostly, my heart hurts for my pastor and his wife and his entire family.

A few years ago, my pastor lost a granddaughter to cancer. She was only 5 years old at the time. Today, he is walking through the intense pain of losing his son. Yet, I don’t believe this loss is any easier for him. Someone he loves is in heaven. And there is nothing I or anyone else can do to take his pain away.

Our prayer focus is for those who are mourning. We can never take away the pain but we can ask God to comfort them. I know my pastor and his family have a long road of healing ahead. Only God knows the journey they will take. But I will pray for them. And I will ask God to make Himself known and comfort them. The pain is inevitable, but God will sustain them as they endure.

Lord God,

I pray for Pastor Joel and the entire Hunter family. Be with them Lord. Help them through the days to come. Comfort them in their grief and sustain them. I pray you would draw them close and wrap your arms of love around them.

Thank you Lord.

Amen.

2 thoughts on “Prayer Warrior Wednesday ~ Those Who Mourn

Leave a Reply

