Prayer Warrior Wednesday ~ Sharing God’s Love

Sharing Christ: Philemon 1:4-7

Sharing Christ: Philemon 1:4-7 (Photo credit: Realistic Imaginations)

This morning, I sent my oldest son Nathan out to mow the lawn. I also asked him to clean the pool filter so I wouldn’t have to get wet. He did both with a joyful heart and no complaining. I came into my bedroom to look for something and I didn’t hear the mower. Instead, I heard Nathan talking to someone. Upon further inspection, I saw he was talking to a boy from the neighborhood. He told him that when he is in sixth grade, he can come to youth group with him.

I have to say I was surprised. This boy tends to be a trouble maker and I have reprimanded him on more than one occasion. He behaves himself because he knows he has to leave if he doesn’t. What I didn’t know was that Nathan has talked to him before about God. He has even given him a Bible. I had no idea.

This morning I was praying for our children. I asked God to open their eyes to those around them. I prayed they would be sensitive to opportunities to witness for Him. I asked God to make this a lifestyle for all of us. It’s something I’ve had in my heart for the longest time. I look for opportunities to love, and this morning I witnessed my son doing the same.

With the holidays approaching, we will be surrounded by family and friends who have no idea that God loves them. They celebrate the season for the parties and the presents without the joy of knowing the reason for the celebration. Our prayer focus this week is for opportunities to share God’s love. Sometimes that comes through a kind word. Other times it is the result of good deed. Whatever God lays on your heart, do it. Show your unbelieving family they are loved. Offer a stranger the gift of God. Pray God opens the doors to use you. He will.

“He said to them, “Go into all the world and preach the gospel to all creation.” (Mark 16:15 NIV)

Leave a Reply

