Prayer Warrior Wednesday ~ Questioning God

prayMy pastor made a profound statement last weekend. He said, “Only God has access to a person’s heart.” There is so much truth packed into that short sentence. Last week, Jonah told me he’s been questioning Christianity. As he studies different civilizations and customs of the ancient world, he is learning there are different religions. He said he wonders how we can know our religion is the right one. How do we know our God is the right one? What about everyone else who believes differently? What does God think about them?

We all come to a place of questioning. We wonder if God is real. We ask if He truly loves us. We wonder, with all the suffering, where God is. Jonah is asking those questions and I’m excited. I don’t want any of my kids to blindly follow my beliefs. I want them to be convinced for themselves. I want them to know God in a deeply personal way. And so I’ve been praying for Jonah. I’ve asked the Lord to make Himself real to my boy.

This morning, on the way to school, Jonah asked me who Billy Graham is. I explained in a few short sentences who he is and why he’s famous. He just said, “Oh.” I know he’s thinking about it. I am thankful God has let me see a little glimpse of what He is doing in Jonah’s heart. Mainly, I’m thankful Jonah is seeking out the truth.

Our prayer focus is for the hearts of those we love. Some have never known the love of God and seem to be resisting it. Others are questioning all they have ever believed about God because of tragic circumstances. Some have never once been introduced to the Savior. Be encouraged. God knows exactly what to do and He has access to their hearts. Be faithful to pray. God is faithful to answer.

I pray that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened in order that you may know the hope to which he has called you, the riches of his glorious inheritance in his holy people, (Eph. 1:18 NIV)

2 thoughts on “Prayer Warrior Wednesday ~ Questioning God

  1. Oh, yes!!! God loves our questions…it’s called having a personal conversation with Him!!! How else will we learn, if we don’t ask??? How else will we receive, if we don’t know what to ask for??? Test out His promises..they work miracles!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

