The Voice of Comfort

 

Good Shepherd

Good Shepherd (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This weekend I attended a critique group for the first time. In the past I could never muster up the courage to go, but this weekend I decided to go. Walking in the room I noticed a friend from long ago. She and I hugged and spent a few minutes catching up. It was so great to see her. I noticed my nerves were immediately calmed and I felt more comfortable being at this meeting. I was actually excited about it. Just having someone familiar sit by me made all of the difference.

I noticed the same reaction when I got a phone call from a friend. We haven’t actually spoken to each other in months. Most of our communication is through texts and emails. Between work and family schedules, there is little time to socialize. Hearing her voice though just made me remember. It was familiar and I quickly realized how much I have missed her.

You know, there’s something special about listening for God. There are times we are away from Him for various reasons. Sometimes we don’t take the time to spend in prayer. Other times we feel He is silent. But when He grabs our attention, there is an immediate calm that comes over us. Our anxiety diminishes. The voice of God is one of Comfort.

 My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. (John 10:27 NIV)

Oh Lord,

There are so many voices clamoring for our attention. I pray we would learn to distinguish your voice and follow you!

Amen.

Leave a Reply

