Relentless Pursuit

ljsviolinFor I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons,[a] neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, 39 neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” (Romans 8:38-39 NIV)

A little over a year ago, Jonah and I had a talk. We were waiting in the doctor’s office looking out the window at the surrounding buildings. I asked him if he remembered his hospital visit in one of those buildings. He vaguely remembered and asked why he was there. I went on to share the story of that night when he had his first asthma attack. It was scary for everyone involved. And that attack resulted in a six day stay in the intensive care unit. At the end of that conversation he said, “You mean I almost died?” I told him he did but God spared his life because He had a purpose for him. He was here for a reason.

That conversation struck a nerve with Jonah because a few weeks later I had a conference with his teacher. She told me when asked what he wanted to be when he grew up, he responded, “A Christian musician who shares the Word of God with people.” He never told me he did this. My only conclusion was that he had taken to heart the reality of God’s purpose for him.

I haven’t thought much about that conversation since the conference. But, Jonah has continued with music in school and really loves it. A local violinist was giving a concert last night and I thought Jonah would be interested in attending. He said he wanted to go, so we made plans. Before the concert, as he was getting dressed, he changed his mind. I don’t know if it was the fact that he had to dress nicely or if he just wanted to stay home and play video games. Whatever it was, he was doing his best to rebel against the idea of going. And he was pushing every button to frustrate me. He was highly successful. This didn’t deter us. We were determined. With bad attitude and all, Jonah piled into the van and off we went.

The concert was outstanding. The violinist was amazing. She played her heart out. Then she spoke. She shared her background and how she started playing the violin. She proceeded to say something that caught everyone’s attention. Fourteen months ago, she and her family were in a terrible car accident. They were unsure of her survival. She explained how an experience like this has changed her perspective. It has opened her eyes to realize more than ever of God’s purpose for her. He spared her for a reason and then she said, “God has each and every one of you here because He has a purpose for you.” I couldn’t believe my ears! It was an anointed night of worship. And Jonah, well he decided he had a pretty good time too.

As I went to sleep last night, I thought about how hard Jonah fought to skip the concert. I thought about how angry I was with his attitude. Then I realized, the enemy was at work. He didn’t want us to go. I didn’t bring up the obvious to Jonah last night. I decided to let God do the talking. Maybe he’ll bring it up in our Wednesday morning drive to school. I don’t know. What I do know is that God is speaking to my son. And the enemy is working hard to lead him astray. He faces the same battle we all do. I am enormously thankful for a God who is relentless in His pursuit.

7 thoughts on “Relentless Pursuit

    • He really did…especially when she played so hard she broke the horse hair on her bow:) If you had never put it on your facebook, we wouldn’t have known about it. Amazing how God weaves it all together!

      Like

    • Me too!! I take every opportunity to point out God’s hand in his life. My hope is that he will start to recognize God without my help:)

      Keep singing His praises!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

