Promise Keepers

nathanpk

“There is no question whether an event has happened because of your prayer. When the event you prayed for occurs your prayer has always contributed to it. When the opposite event occurs your prayer has never been ignored; it has been considered and refused, for your ultimate good and the good of the whole universe.” ~Miracles (C.S. Lewis)

Sixteen years ago this month, my husband attended the Promise Keepers rally in Washington D.C. He went with my brother-in-law and his brothers from New York State to Washington D.C. We traveled north that fall for the purpose of him attending that rally. The funny thing is, I was pregnant with our first child. I visited my sister and family and he went with the other men to stand for the belief that men should be committed to their marriages and families.

Over the years, Promise Keepers has died down. I don’t know why. Maybe there was a loss of interest among Christian men. Perhaps the load was too heavy to carry. There were protests and oppositions against the movement which I don’t really understand. In its day, it was an inspiration to men in general. They need to take leadership and this was an opportunity for them to be refreshed and challenged. Recently, Promise Keepers has come back to life. And this past weekend our oldest son attended.

I had forgotten about our trip to New York and the rally on D.C. until this weekend. I remember it because it was a special time for my husband and me. After trying to conceive for two years, I was finally pregnant. It was a promise God had given me, but the wait was long. We were celebrating the coming birth of our son and my husband was renewing his commitment to be a godly husband and father.

The birth of our son was a blessing to us. It has been fun to watch him grow. We have had times of joy and times of struggle with him. The teenage years are the hardest. Someone once told me, “There will be times your children will make you well up with pride. There will be other times they will be a disappointment, but they are still your children.” That is so true.

Today I am celebrating because my son is following Christ. I have no idea what the future holds. He will make mistakes. He will stumble. He may even fall at some point in his life. This is when he will experience God’s mercy. I speak from experience. But I am confident that each and every prayer I have prayed for Nathan or will pray for him is heard by my Father in heaven. He loves Nathan more than I do and can take each and every situation and make it a glorious one. God kept his promise to give us a child, He will keep His promise to remain with him.

Leave a Reply

