It Never Gets Old

1150305_10153194726220424_23760994_n

(Photo Credit: Northland Church)

About a month ago, our church had a service specifically focused on baptism. They invited anyone who wanted to be baptized to come to the services that weekend. They announced it for a month prior and gave people an opportunity to sign up. They placed two “pools” on stage and as the congregation watched, the musicians played and sang. One by one, each person came to show publically what had happened in their hearts. It was overwhelming.

I cried through the whole service. It was a mixture of emotions that overcame me. There was a part of me so excited for those being baptized. You could see the joy on their faces as they took this next step in their faith walk. But also, I was saddened because there were those who need Christ that were absent. There are those very close to me that have no idea that God loves them. They don’t understand the lengths He has taken to have a relationship with them. They wander aimlessly without a Savior to lead them. And it makes me incredibly sad.

Twenty-three years ago today I asked Jesus into my heart. I sat on my living room floor and told Him I didn’t want to live another day without Him. Now, 23 years later, I still feel the same way. And I am so moved when I watch others come to Him. It never gets old for me. In fact, I would say, it becomes dearer to me as the years pass.

I think I will never fully understand how a mighty God would desire a relationship with His creation. We are imperfect and sometimes impossible. We are sinful and wicked. We are without compassion and grace and yet He desires us. That in itself is a miracle. I am glad He chose to seek us. He chose to find us. He chose to be our God. I don’t know what the next twenty-three years hold for me, but I know who will lead me each and every day!

“For this reason, since the day we heard about you, we have not stopped praying for you. We continually ask God to fill you with the knowledge of his will through all the wisdom and understanding that the Spirit gives so that you may live a life worthy of the Lord and please him in every way: bearing fruit in every good work, growing in the knowledge of God, being strengthened with all power according to his glorious might so that you may have great endurance and patience, and giving joyful thanks to the Father, who has qualified you to share in the inheritance of his holy people in the kingdom of light. For he has rescued us from the dominion of darkness and brought us into the kingdom of the Son he loves, in whom we have redemption, the forgiveness of sins. (Colossians 1:9-14 NIV)

Leave a Reply

