Sharing the Love of Jesus

 

Jesus raising Lazarus from the dead

Jesus raising Lazarus from the dead (Photo credit: Martin LaBar (going on hiatus))

“So the chief priests made plans to kill Lazarus as well, for on account of him many of the Jews were going over to Jesus and believing in him.”(John 12:10-11 NIV)

I kind of chuckled when I read this passage. The chief priests are going to kill the guy Jesus just raised from the dead. Wouldn’t it be funny if they tried to stone him and he just kept popping back up yelling, “Psych!” Sorry, I’m always humored by people who think they can overpower God. The sad part about it is, they thought Lazarus was a threat. He was a walking miracle and I imagine he couldn’t keep quiet about what happened. But it wasn’t what he said that kept them following, it was the miracle itself. The people not only heard about Jesus, they saw his power.

Last night, my husband and I met our younger son at his school to do a prayer walk. We met a leader and four other students to walk in front of the school and pray for the students and teachers. As we finished up our prayer time, I looked at the students who weren’t particularly thrilled to be there. I don’t know if they were dreading the first day of school or if they just thought it was lame to pray. Middle schoolers are pretty umm…hard to impress. My thought as I watched them was, “Don’t you know what an amazing opportunity you have here? It is exciting to be among people who don’t know Jesus. You have an amazing treasure that you get to share with people.”

Okay, I understand, they are preteens just getting through life navigating hormones and mean people. Maybe they have an excuse, but we don’t. If we have truly experienced the love of God then we should be excited to share it. We should look forward opportunities for spread the love of Christ.

“Now the crowd that was with him when he called Lazarus from the tomb raised him from the dead continued to spread the word. Many people because they had heard that he was given this miraculous sign, went out to meet him. (John 12:17-18 NIV)

I realize this sounds easier written on paper than doing it in real life. But I wonder what it was that caused these people to search for Jesus. Did they want to see a miracle for themselves? I imagine they were running and telling anyone who would listen. I can see them in the streets grabbing people by the arm telling what they saw. They went to their family and villages and shared what they had experienced. They wanted everyone to know. Do we have that kind of excitement about the miracles Jesus has performed in our lives? Or maybe we don’t think He’s done a whole lot for us.

I challenge you this week to talk to someone you would not normally have a conversation with. Step outside your comfort zone and pray for God to put someone in your life that needs Him. And then follow His leading as you share the love of Jesus with them. It can come in any form. It can be an unexpected act of kindness. The love of Jesus can be shown in a thoughtful note of encouragement. Maybe just letting someone know you are thinking about them and praying for them. There are so many ways we can love those God puts in our lives. I wonder how many more people would search for Jesus if they experienced even a small taste of the love He has for them.   

4 thoughts on “Sharing the Love of Jesus

  1. You are so right, Lori. They need to taste the love He has for them. I’ve been getting really convicted about being a witness to our neighborhood. I’m not able to do a lot of walking around our neighborhood etc. because of my arthritis, so I don’t feel like I know many of them very well. My husband does though, and we decided to host a “block party” gathering last Sat. for all of the residents on our street. Not a lot of prep involved. We provided grills, meat, and the yard. Others came a brought a side dish. It was awesome. We all got to know each other better and I feel like it opened doors for us to share the love of Jesus with them as we continue to develop relationships. One couple didn’t get out of work until it was over, but we went down and asked them to come and share leftovers with us for the evening meal. We got to know them even better and some more doors were opened for witness. They need to see Jesus in us and want Him. This was a great post, Lori!

    Like

    • Wow! What a great idea!! It is so amazing what God can do if we would just make an effort. After reading this I’m going to go introduce myself to my new neighbors. They just moved in a couple of weeks ago and I haven’t met them yet. Thanks for your encouragement Peg!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

