Prayer Warrior Wednesday ~ When God Doesn’t Answer

 

Jesus raising Lazarus from the dead

Jesus raising Lazarus from the dead (Photo credit: Martin LaBar (going on hiatus))

“When Jesus saw her weeping, and the Jews who had come along with her also weeping, he was deeply moved in spirit and troubled. ‘Where have you laid him?’ he asked. ’Come and see, Lord,’ they replied. Jesus wept. Then the Jews said, ‘See how he loved him!’ But some of them said, ‘Could not he who opened the eyes of the blind man have kept this man from dying?’ Jesus, once more deeply moved, came to the tomb. It was a cave with a stone laid across the entrance.  ‘Take away the stone,’ he said.” (John 11:33-39 NIV)

I’ve read this passage of scripture over a lot in the past few days. I think it’s because it’s one of the few times where Jesus feelings are shared. We read about His teachings and His travels. What He encountered and the miracles he performed are recorded. But there simply isn’t a lot written about how Jesus felt. This is one of the few places where we see Jesus’ compassion and love for another displayed.

I woke up the other night and the thought came into my head that God had not answered a prayer. I remember feeling so discouraged but quickly fell back to sleep. Later that same night (or early morning) I woke up again with the thought that God had answered the prayer. I was relieved. Finally, when I woke up for good, I realized that yes God had answered, but not as I had hoped.

In the story above, Martha was extremely distraught about her brother’s passing. She confronted Jesus stating that Lazarus would not have died if He would have been there. She’s very upset because she knew Jesus had the power to change the situation and had not. But I love Jesus’ heart. He was moved. He saw her grief over her brother’s death and her disappointment in Him and he wept. To me, it just shows how much Jesus cares. It shows how real His love toward us is. It displays a very human Jesus and His very authentic compassion.

Today’s prayer focus is that we would truly understand the love the Father has for us. We look at circumstances or unanswered prayers and think He has forgotten about us. But that is so far from the truth. He loves us. He is moved when we are heartbroken. And sometimes He delays His answer because He has another purpose. Keep praying. I promise the Lord hears and will answer.

4 thoughts on “Prayer Warrior Wednesday ~ When God Doesn’t Answer

  1. Yes. I love how He gives us what’s best for us, and not always what we want. I’d be a mess by now if he’d always given me what my desires were. 🙂 I’m not sure if you accept awards on your blog, Lori, but I have nominated you for the Versatile Bloggers Award. There is more info on my site at aron8098.wordpress.com.

    Like

Leave a Reply

