Prayer Warrior Wednesday ~ Praying for Those Who Need God

God the Father, Cima da Conegliano, Circa 1510-17.

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“…He has also set eternity in the hearts of men…” (Ecc. 3:11 NIV)

I’ve been thinking about these words for a few days now. Out of the whole sermon I heard this weekend, these were the words I remembered. Does it mean that God put the desire to live eternally in man’s heart? Is this what they are referring to when people say we have a “God-shaped hole” in our hearts? Are we born with the longing for the Creator? The answer is, I don’t know. I looked up commentaries and read the same scripture in different versions. Some said, yes, others had a different take based on the second part of the verse. So, I’m not sure.

What I do know is that God loved us first. “We love because he first loved us.”  He lavished His love on us. “See what great love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God!”  We are dearly loved. “Follow God’s example, therefore, as dearly loved children.”  It’s hard to fathom a love like God’s. He loves us when we were unlovable. He cares for us when we don’t give Him the time of day. He blesses us when we are ungrateful whiners. This to me is the real mystery. His love is not dependent on our actions or attitudes. He just loves. That’s who He is. “God is love.”

So, I don’t know if we love God because He has put that in our hearts or if it’s because at some point we finally understand (in our little minds) how much God loves us. The point is, He wants us. He desires a relationship with us. He wants us to be with Him each and every day for all of eternity.

Our prayer focus today is for those we know who need God. They may know about God but never experienced a relationship with Him. Maybe it’s a person you know from church who just doesn’t seem to understand that they are truly loved by God. May be it’s someone in your family who wants nothing to do with God. Each person is on a different journey and in a different place. But I believe we all know someone who needs a relationship with God. Pray for that person. Ask God to reveal Himself to them in a way they have never experienced. Intercede on their behalf.

Thank you Lord for your love. I pray you would place people into our lives who are in need of you. Help us not to be so busy with life that we forget to pray and actively love those you place in our lives. Help us to go and love and encourage those who need it.

Amen

2 thoughts on “Prayer Warrior Wednesday ~ Praying for Those Who Need God

  1. “Help us not to be so busy with life that we forget to pray and actively love those you place in our lives.” Thank you so much for this reminder, Lori! I find it so easy to get caught up in “Peggy’s World” and lose site of those who aren’t yet walking with Him. This is an area of my prayer life that I really want/need to focus on – praying especially for their salvation, but also for their specific needs, as the Spirit leads, knowing that He knows their needs better than I do. “Lord, make me an instrument of Your peace . . .” The Lord really spoke to me through your words today, and His! Thank you, and may God bless your weekend!

    Like

    • Oh thank you Peg. I have a person in my life I have been praying for. She’s not open to hear the gospel (although she knows who God is). But I keep praying. At this point I’m just trying to be her friend, listen a lot and pray like crazy. Your encouragement today blessed me immensely!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

