Prayer Warrior Wednesday ~ Never Give Up Hope

 

American Ninja Warrior G4

(Photo credit: planetc1)

 

The new favorite show in our house is American Ninja Warrior. Our whole family gathers around the television to watch determined men and women attempt to conquer the obstacle course. They are trying to gain a spot in the finals where they will give their best effort at completing the most challenging course. The problem is, they only get one shot. If they fail, they’re out. This show draws on emotion as well as excitement. You learn about some of the contestants and the challenges they have overcome to be there. They share their story, background and future ambitions. In a thirty second spot, their story is told. And so, when it’s their turn to compete, you find yourself cheering them on. You are emotionally invested in their success. And if they fall, you are disappointed because you know all of their hard work has ended in failure. They don’t get a second try. They are finished.

Over the last several months I have been praying about something. It’s been on my heart and I’ve gone before the Lord on many occasions. I asked Him for direction. I told Him I’d step aside if He needed me to. But continually, He has led me to continue praying. The thing is, I don’t see any fruit. According to my timetable, things should have progressed. But instead, I find myself becoming frustrated wondering if God is working. In my heart, I know He is, I just can’t see what He’s doing and it’s causing me to question.

Yesterday, I saw the faintest glimmer. I saw a tiny flicker of God’s light in this situation. It’s that ever so slight movement that gave me hope. It made me think God isn’t finished yet. The horn hasn’t gone off. I haven’t fallen off the course. He’s still moving and working and doing what He said He was going to do. I only need to trust.

Our prayer focus today is hope. If you have lost hope in God, ask Him to restore it. If you’ve messed up, God allows do overs. If you think He’s forgotten about you, think again. If you’ve fallen off the course, you can get back on with God’s grace. God isn’t standing by waiting for you to fail, telling you to come back next year and try again. He will lift you up; restore you and give you hope. He is not finished with you. He is not finished working in your situation. Never lose hope in Him because He will never leave you.

“The Lord is my portion,” says my soul, “Therefore I have hope in Him.” (Lam. 3:24 NASB)

3 thoughts on “Prayer Warrior Wednesday ~ Never Give Up Hope

Leave a Reply

