Is God Logical?

 

God the Father 20

(Photo credit: Waiting For The Word)

 

“This is love: not that we loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins.”(1 John 4:10 NIV)(I wrote this blog a few years ago. I hope it brings you encouragement.)

I read a blog today from an atheist. He explained his reasoning for not believing in God or Allah or any other god for that matter. His whole point for the blog was to explain why he was an atheist. He could not understand how a loving God would let so much pain, tragedy and destruction happen in the world. He could not explain why one person is born blind and another is not. It’s too random. There is no logic to it. In his mind it makes no sense at all. And since God does not seem logical, he had no use for Him. He explained that he loved science because it was logical. He understood the formulas, the charts and categories. Everything in science fit into his little box. And since God didn’t fit and because he could not understand God, he has concluded that there is no God.

I have to say that on some levels I agree with him. There is no logic to the struggles in life. It doesn’t make sense that some people seem to have it easier than others. It certainly doesn’t seem fair that some people are stricken with terrible tragedy and others just seem to skate through life. None of it is logical. But does that mean God is nonexistent?

I would agree that God is not logical. After all, He did not spare His one and only Son so that we may live. It makes no sense that God would sacrifice His beloved for a wretch like me. It is far from logical. And I certainly cannot wrap my brain around the fact that God loves me, just because. I don’t understand any of it. It is not logical. It makes no sense…none of it.

But this is what God did and I choose to believe it. I choose to let God love me. I choose to step out in faith every day understanding that there will be days when I shout for joy and days when I sob in grief. It’s called life! Perhaps it’s not logical or predictable, but it’s never boring. I guess I’m glad I serve a God who is unpredictable to mere humans.

Yes, God seems illogical in our human understanding. I agree with that. But that does not make Him nonexistent. I believe it makes Him Sovereign…logically speaking.

3 thoughts on “Is God Logical?

    • Thanks for reading. I’m glad you found it to be encouraging:)
      I visited your blog. You have an amazing story! Thank you for sharing it with the rest of us.
      Blessings to you!!!!

      Like

      • Blessings,

        Just trying to do the best for my God who has given me all things which I am truly grateful for. If it wasn’t for Him, I wouldn’t be the man I am today. Hallelujah!

        Like

Leave a Reply

