Prayer Warrior Wednesday ~ Praying the Hard Prayers

Return of the prodigal son

Return of the prodigal son (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“But while he was still a long way off, his father saw him and was filled with compassion for him; he ran to his son, threw his arms around him and kissed him.” (Luke 15:20 NIV)I’ve been thinking a lot about the prayers I pray lately. Some are for my family. Others are for requests friends have made. Recently, I found myself praying a hard prayer. I asked God to remove me from a situation if I would not be instrumental in helping it. It was a hard prayer to pray because I really wanted to see this thing through. I had prayed and obeyed for several months and I wanted to see the fruit of those prayers. However, I did not want to get in the way of God’s plan. If someone else was to come along and finish what I had started, then so be it. I needed to let God be in charge. So, I prayed.

There are many hard prayers to pray in life. Most of those end with “thy will be done Lord”. When we are willing to step aside and allow God to do His work, we are placing our trust in Him. We understand that it might get harder before it gets easier. I wonder if the father of the prodigal son prayed such a prayer. I wonder if he asked God to move in his son’s life so his only hope would be to return home. I wonder if he asked God to do whatever He had to in order to soften his son’s heart. I wonder if the father, after learning where his son ended up, was thankful God did what He did.

Ultimately, we pray those hard prayers in order to have reconciliation. We pray those for loved ones who have not given their lives to the Lord. We pray for those who have walked away from the faith. The hard prayers are prayed for those we love the most. That’s what makes them hard prayers. Many times our prayers cause them to suffer for a season. But we pray them because we love them and we are willing to step aside and let God move.

Today’s prayer focus is about praying the hard prayer. It’s coming before the Lord and asking Him for His will in the situation. It’s for our hearts to accept His leading whatever that might be. Don’t be afraid to pray the hard prayers. Don’t worry about the journey; just keep your eyes on the end result. God loves us and knows our hearts. And He knows how hard it is for us to release everything over to Him. Trust Him and His ways.

 

One thought on “Prayer Warrior Wednesday ~ Praying the Hard Prayers

Leave a Reply

