Prayer Warrior Wednesday…Praying for our Children

Hannah presents Samuel to Eli

Hannah presents Samuel to Eli (Photo credit: Lawrence OP)

My eyes were tearing as I watched him reading God’s Word. He decided, on his own he wanted to go forward. There were over 2500 people in service that morning, but the crowd didn’t hold him back. He felt compelled to head to the front of the room and read what the Lord had given him. I was one proud Mom.

That was my eleven year old this past Sunday morning. They asked the congregants to read a scripture passage that was special to them. Before I knew it, he was standing in line waiting his turn. I couldn’t believe my eyes and was overcome by emotion when I heard him read:

“You have heard that it was said, ‘Love your neighbor and hate your enemy.’ But I tell you, love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you, that you may be children of your Father in heaven. He causes his sun to rise on the evil and the good, and sends rain on the righteous and the unrighteous. If you love those who love you, what reward will you get? Are not even the tax collectors doing that? And if you greet only your own people, what are you doing more than others? Do not even pagans do that? Be perfect, therefore, as your heavenly Father is perfect.

(Matthew 5:43-48 NIV)

I later asked him why he chose that scripture and he said, “I’m going to need to remember that when I’m in middle school.” Wow!

Jonah is not a perfect kid. He plays too many video games and rarely gets excited about doing school work. He plays with his friends. He fights with his siblings and he gets in trouble a lot. But that morning as I watched my boy stand and read scripture, my heart was moved. Do you know how many prayers I have prayed for that boy? Do you know the hours I have spent pleading on his behalf? This was just one baby step toward the heart I hope my boy will have.

You see, as a praying Mom, my deepest desire for each of my children is for them to follow Jesus with their whole hearts. I don’t just want them to obey me (although that makes my life easier), I want them follow God. I don’t want them to chase after big houses and fancy cars. I want them to aspire to do the things that matter to the kingdom of God.

Our prayer focus this week is for our sons and daughters. It doesn’t matter how old they are, they need our prayers. I remember the sweet words of a friend who lost her Mom, “My Mom prayed for me every single day of my life.” My friend carries with her that cherished memory. Regardless of your children’s circumstances, predicaments or ages, I encourage you to spend some time in prayer for them today. Don’t get too busy and put it off. Just take a minute to ask God to work.  I believe the pleas of a mother hold a special place in God’s heart.

“In her deep anguish Hannah prayed to the Lord, weeping bitterly.” (1 Samuel 1:10 NIV)

“…and the Lord remembered her.” (1 Samuel 1:19 NIV)

One thought on “Prayer Warrior Wednesday…Praying for our Children

Leave a Reply

