Prayer Warrior Wednesday

 

Praying Hands

(Photo credit: C Jill Reed)

It finally arrived. I wasn’t sure if she would write, but she did. I got my first letter from our Compassion girl. She’s an older girl, 17 years old. I wrote to her back in December and never heard back. We were excited to read about Afsana and her life in India.

 

That first letter was so difficult to write. I didn’t really know her, and still don’t, so I just shared about our family and hoped for a common thread. Since I didn’t pick her, she was assigned to me, I really had no idea what to expect. She and Karoline have a lot in common. She has two brothers and her favorite subject in school is Math. Her letter was so sweet and at the end she asked for prayer. I can’t wait to write back and tell her I pray for her often.

 

Prayer is a beautiful gift from the Lord. Regardless of where we are in life, being covered in prayer is such a comfort. Yesterday, I spent some time in prayer for a friend and texted her to let her know. Someone else called me yesterday to say I’ve been on her heart. Recently, I received an email that a friend was lifting me up in prayer. Each time someone tells me they’ve been praying for me, I am so honored, really. The thought that someone took time out of their day to pray to the Almighty on my behalf is heart-warming.

 

Our prayer focus today is to become a people of prayer. We live in a hurting, desperate world that needs Christ. The first step in showing Christ’s love is prayer. I challenge you to ask God to spark that desire in your heart to pray. Ask Him to make you a person who prays without ceasing. It not only blesses those you are praying for, it draws you closer to the Lord.

 

“Therefore, confess your sins to one another, and pray for one another so that you may be healed. The effective prayer of a righteous man can accomplish much.”  (James 5:16 NASB)

 

2 thoughts on “Prayer Warrior Wednesday

Leave a Reply

