On My Knees

 

Jesus in Pray

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

This morning I decided it was time to clean my kitchen. I am embarrassed to say, it’s been a while. The grout was getting darker and darker. The countertops were getting cluttered. The floors were, well sticky. It was past time. I decided, not only to clean, but to deep clean.

As part of my deep cleaning process, I decided to take my grandmother’s advice and wash the floor on my hands and knees. She believed this was the only way possible to truly clean a floor. So, I mixed the concoction I found on Pinterest and got to work. There I was, on my hands and knees and I have to say, I had no idea how dirty the corners and crevices of my kitchen were. I had never noticed because I rarely crawl around on the floor. It was really quite gross.

Lately, I’ve been spending a lot of time in prayer. With so many decisions and opportunities, I just want to follow Him. I have found myself kneeling before Him, pleading for wisdom and guidance. There’s something humbling about the act of kneeling before the Lord. It’s not only an outward position of humility; it reaches to the very heart. On my knees, the Lord has exposed the ugliness in my heart and brought cleansing. He has given me the words to pray when there were none. And God has given me the next step in His plan for me.

My grandmother was right; your floor is much cleaner when you are on your hands and knees washing it. And my prayers seem to be more effective when I am down on my knees. I don’t think my prayers are more likely to be heard or that my words are more eloquent. I think it’s because I’m in a vulnerable position, waiting for God to speak. In that position of humility, I seem to hear all He has to say, not just what I want to hear. And it seems my prayers have more power because they are spoken from a desperate heart.

“But when you pray, go into your room, close the door and pray to your Father, who is unseen. Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you.” (Matthew 6:6 NIV)

One thought on “On My Knees

Leave a Reply

