In Search of Jesus

The Disciples gather the Bread

The Disciples gather the Bread (Photo credit: Lawrence OP)

“Once the crowd realized that neither Jesus nor his disciples were there, they got into the boats and went to Capernaum in search of Jesus.” (John 6:6:24 NIV)

Have you ever woken up one day, looked around and said to yourself, “How did I get here?” Have you ever found yourself in a situation wondering why you continue to plug along at something that has no purpose in the kingdom of God? Have you found yourself in the midst of sin asking yourself why you keep going back to the same nasty thing over and over? Sometimes in life, God gives us a wakeup call. He steps into our man-made lives and opens our eyes to the fact that He has something better.

I read this scripture the other day and was intrigued by the people. These were the same 5000 plus people (they only counted the men) who were on a hill being fed from the basket containing two fish and five loaves. All of those people were fed with the food Jesus blessed. No one went away hungry and all were amazed for they had just witnessed a miracle. The dawning of a new day brought with it the desire to find Jesus.

I don’t know how long these people had followed Jesus. I don’t know how many miracles He performed in their presence. What I do know is that when they realized Jesus was gone, they went after Him. They may have wanted to witness His power. They may have had personal needs. Perhaps they knew someone who needed His healing touch. I find it interesting that these people didn’t go back to daily life. They must have had work to do and business to attend to. Instead, they jumped on some boats to find Him.

Although I’m not sure of their motives, I love their determination to follow Jesus. Once they saw His power and ate of His provision, they wanted more. Jesus knew their hearts and He knows our hearts. I have to be honest, there are many times I’m more interested in my own agenda than God’s. There are times I ask Him to follow me to my destination rather than ask for Him to lead the way. This morning, the Lord reminded me to just sit, confess and listen. I want so much to know His will. I desperately want to contribute to the kingdom.

Thank you Lord for your infinite love. Thank you for always remaining the same. Give us hearts to follow you no matter the cost. I pray we would begin each day seeking you above all else.

Amen

Leave a Reply

