Prayer Warrior Wednesday

mt_aerial_Ol Doinyo Lengai ("Mountain of ...

(“Mountain of God”) Photo credit: Cessna 206

Today is Prayer Warrior Wednesday. I had a simple post planned but have changed my mind. I spent some intense time in prayer today and had a revelation. Anything good in my life is because of God. I realize I’m a little late to the party here, but stick with me.

One of the things I’ve been praying about persistently is my son Jonah. He is signed up to go to public middle school next year. I’ve talked to his teacher, discussed it with other public middle school parents (Christian and non-Christians) and discussed pros and cons with my husband. It’s been on the top of my prayer list for months now. Still, I have no answer.

This morning, as I prayed I remembered the devotional I read. It was about seeking the Lord in every decision. As it thought about that and prayed I realized something. There have been times I have prayed for something I want, diligently. I ask God to bless my choice not asking for His opinion. I make it His will although the idea was mine. Sometimes He gives me what I want because I persist. And without a doubt, it always turns out bad.

Then I thought about all of the “right” things in my life. I thought of my marriage. I thought of my children. I thought of my friendships. I thought of victories small and great and what I realized is that each and every “good and right” thing that has happened has been because I let the Lord lead. Now this may seem obvious to everyone else but this morning it was as though God provided me a list. These are the successes listed under the heading “Led by God” and the failures listed under, “Led by Lori”.

Let me clarify here, I’m not saying my marriage or kids are perfect (seriously). What I’m trying to express is that, in my marriage, when we have been presented with a challenge, if we let the Lord lead us through that challenge, we have been blessed. It didn’t always turn out as I wanted but I can see the best happened. With our children, when we let God lead through a situation instead of using a blanket solution, we see growth in our children and in us.

So today, I am more convinced than ever to let God lead. He has a plan. He knows the way. It is rarely the easiest route but it is always the path that leads to a closer relationship with Him. David knew this as he wrote, “Send me your light and your faithful care, let them lead me; let them bring me to your holy mountain, to the place where you dwell.” (Psalm 43:3 NIV) He wanted nothing more than to be with God. He knew following Him was the only way to reach Him, to dwell with Him.

Lord God,

May we step aside and allow you to lead. And may we have eyes to see your purpose and your plan is best. Help us to follow one step at a time not running ahead and not lagging behind. Thank you Lord that your purpose is always to strengthen our relationship with you!

Amen.

Leave a Reply

