The Encourager

lamentations

It’s been a remarkable year for Jonah. He’s my most challenging child mainly because he won’t stay inside the box. He works very hard to see how far he can go before he gets in trouble. He observes and watches my mood. He points out when he’s gotten away with something as well as when he’s disobeyed. The thing about Jonah is that he’s painfully honest. He wouldn’t make a terrific criminal because he can’t keep a secret. The Lord has given him a sensitive conscience. This conscience has served me well-being the administrator of punishments.

This year, along with his mischievous ways, Jonah has some pretty impressive accomplishments. First, he managed to win third place in his class for science fair. He came home every day correcting and retyping his data as instructed. In the end, he was rewarded for his efforts. Next, he was inducted into National Elementary Honor Society. After maintain A’s and B’s for the year, he was extremely proud to join his sister (I think he felt bad he didn’t get nominated last year). And finally this week, he read all of the Sunshine State books (15 I believe). He has won the opportunity to join the school librarian, along with other students who read those books, for a trip in a limo to eat lunch at a local restaurant. This was something he decided at the beginning (mainly for the opportunity to ride in a limo) of the year and finally accomplished it after nine months. I have to say, I’m pretty proud of my boy. He made his mind up and he accomplished some pretty great things.

Then this morning came. He didn’t finish his homework. He worked on it for 2 ½ hours yesterday and this morning he wanted to check to be sure he finished. Well he didn’t. I was frustrated. He had to finish. This work would not be accepted after today. He would get a zero. I made him stay and finish. He made it to school in time (early in fact), but I was irritated. At that moment, all of his accomplishments went out the door and all I could focus on was his mistake.

“But encourage one another daily, as long as it is called “Today,” so that none of you may be hardened by sin’s deceitfulness.” (Hebrews 3:13 NIV)

Jonah has accomplished more this year than any other year of his life. I wish I could take the credit for encouraging my son, but I believe it’s because he’s had a teacher who believes in him. She has pushed him, unwilling to let him quit. She has inspired him to finish what he started, not out of fear of punishment, but because she believed in him. She has shown him that he can accomplish anything if he simply persists.

As I write this today, I am painfully aware of my shortcomings as a Mom. But I am also incredibly thankful. Daily, I pray for my children. And I am thankful that where I fail, the Lord raises up people who fill that gap. He hears my prayers and He answers using anything and anyone to accomplish His will. In Jonah’s life, it’s his teacher.

Do you have a cheerleader in your life?

Thank you Lord for those you place in our lives as encouragers.

They are treasures from you!

Amen.

Leave a Reply

