Good Morning!

Sunrise

I’ve been absent for a couple of weeks. I haven’t written anything or even blogged. I have longed to sit quietly and write but have not had the opportunity. I have been on vacation with my mother and sister. We have been on a cruise visiting sites I’ve never experienced before. We have mingled with different people and cultures learning about their countries. We have snorkeled in Honduras, climbed Mayan ruins in Belize and swam with dolphins in Mexico. It was an amazing, once in a lifetime vacation, courtesy of my mom.

I had only cruised one other time and it was miserable. I was terribly seasick and remember thinking I would never want to cruise again. This time was different though because I had the patch. If you’ve cruised, you know about the patch that goes behind your ear. Once I had that, I was set, or so I thought. The patch prevents seasickness, but not anxiety.

It happened the first night. I was awakened by the rocking of the boat. It was the middle of the night and I could hear the wind whipping outside on the balcony and feel the swaying of the boat. Was this normal? I asked my sister who had cruised in Hawaii some months earlier. She too was wide awake wondering what was going on. We looked outside only to see a pitch black sky because there are no streetlights out on the Caribbean. I laid there in the dark praying my heart out.

My fears got the better of my. I was afraid I would die at sea leaving my family behind. I prayed and prayed through the night begging God to save us. It wasn’t until the sun rose in the morning that I felt some relief. Once the light was shed on the choppy waters, I could see the waves. They weren’t nearly as scary. I quickly realized the boat would not capsize and that this was probably normal. It certainly was a good morning!

It’s interesting, in the darkness, I was afraid. I could not assess for myself the intensity of the waves. All I knew was the swaying of the boat and the sound of the wind. Without the ability to see, I made the assumption that the waves were high and the winds strong. The darkness exaggerated the circumstances increasing my fear. As soon as the light shone, the truth of the situation was revealed. The light changed everything.

“You, Lord, keep my lamp burning; my God turns my darkness into light.” (Psalm 18:28 NIV)

There are so many times that circumstances have been magnified to become impossible situations. The darkness falls around and the enemy whispers despair. Our eyes are blinded to truth and our emotions take over. They are all liars. But the Lord shines truth into every situation. There is nothing He can’t do. He is never afraid. He is not without the ability to change things. And for that I am thankful.

Dear Lord,

Show me truth and deafen me to the enemy’s lies. You are Light of the World. May I see each and every circumstance in the radiance of your light.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

