MY IPod?

iPod-like icon

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“Then he said to them, ‘Watch out! Be on your guard against all kinds of greed; life does not consist in an abundance of possessions.’” (Luke 12:15 NIV)

Several years ago, my family bought me an IPod for Mother’s Day. It was one of the original ones. I loved it. I listened to it while I exercised. Over and over I would listen to the Christian music I had loaded. It kept me company on the treadmill and inspired me to work harder. Over time, I got bored with it and passed it along to Jonah.

Once Jonah got a hold of it, he made it his own. He filled it with Christian rock songs and listened to it on the bus to and from school. He walked around listening to it all the time. There were many times he didn’t hear me call because he was being serenaded by the inspiration coming from the ear buds. He loved it, until he got bored with it. So, one day he made a trade with his friend. He traded MY IPod for a scooter.

At first I was a little irritated he gave away MY IPod. I soon realized the receiver of MY IPod also listened to it on the bus. Only, the boy played it so loud; his friends around him on the bus could hear it also. Yes, the school bus kids were listening to the message about Jesus on ride to and from school. Could God use MY IPod as a opportunity to inspire kids?

Jonah came home the other day and told me that his friend had sold MY IPod for $20 to another friend. Again, I struggled with the thought of MY IPod being gone for good. But, I wonder if that boy is now listening to the Christian music. It seems that every time MY IPod changes hands, it becomes a tool for the Lord to use to sing His love into another life. At least that’s my hope.

I miss MY IPod, not because I used it often, but because it was a reminder of the love my family has for me. It held sentimental value. However, our purpose here on earth, is to speak (or sing) truth into the lives of those willing to listen. We have the privilege of sharing the message of the gospel. If God is willing to use HIS IPod to speak love into hearts, then I’d gladly give up any of MY possessions.

Leave a Reply

