The Passion

The Crucifixion of Christ

The Crucifixion of Christ (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Let this Messiah, this king of Israel, come down now from the cross, that we may see and believe.” Those crucified with him also heaped insults on him. (Matt. 15:32 NIV)

Last night my church showed the movie “The Passion of the Christ”. I’ve seen the movie only once. I found it so disturbing and uncomfortable to watch. In fact, it scarred me so much, I refuse to watch it again.

If you haven’t seen the movie even once, I suggest you watch it. But beware, it is not for the faint of heart. It’s the cruel truth behind the crucifixion; the reality of what Jesus endured for our sake. To be honest, I don’t even think they were able to completely capture the grotesque condition Jesus was in after He endured the beating. But the suffering they showed was an accurate depiction of what Jesus had to go through.

The reason I don’t like the movie is because it forces me to see the pain, humiliation and abuse Jesus was willing to go through for me. Every drop of blood was shed because of my sin. Every snap of the whip was because of my transgressions. All of the suffering was for my salvation.

Our world talks a lot about passion. Everyone has a passion for something. Jesus’ passion is us. He paid the ultimate price for us. He not only gave His life, He endured the cross. It was a cruel and horrific way to die but He did it because He is passionate about having a relationship with us.

As I think of the state of my heart, I am thankful today. I am thankful that although I don’t deserve it, Jesus wants to be my Lord. Although I am unworthy, He wants to have a relationship with me. He loves me, not because I am good, or holy, or righteous. He loves me because I am His passion.

 

Thank you Lord Jesus for giving your life for me. I pray I would never forget the sacrifice you made. May I live my life for you as you have given your life for me.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

