Dwelling

Camping

Camping (Photo credit: devkoDE)

“He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High will rest in the shadow of the Almighty.” (Psalm 91:1)

The Lord brought me to this scripture last night and then again this morning. I have read this psalm several times since yesterday. And this first verse has really spoken to me. The words that jump out to me are “dwell” and “rest”. I have to confess, that over the last couple of weeks, I have not had much rest. Last week, I believe it was the Lord calling me to pray, but this week, my fears were stealing my sleep. I know the difference because, when the Lord calls me to pray, I have peace. After a night of prayer, I wake up feeling the presence of God. I am at rest. But this past week, I have been fearful. And as a result, I’m exhausted. I have been tired and frankly, getting cranky. When I wake up in the morning, I am filled with anxiety. This is not the norm for me, so I knew something was wrong. What I’ve realized, is my dwelling place had changed. I had chosen to dwell in a place far from God.

We all have a choice as to where we are going to dwell. We can choose to dwell in the past by rehashing old memories. Sometimes these are good times we wish we could go back to. Other times these are bad memories we wish had never happened. We can dwell in the fantasy of what we wish life could be instead of dwelling in the reality of what our lives really are. Sometimes worry and despair is where we dwell confessing to those around us that we are just worriers as if it is something we are proud of. We dwell in our emotions instead of dwelling in “shelter of the Most High”. And for me, I found my dwelling place to be in fear this week. For me, this is a place I often go. I think that comes from my desire to be in control. And when I am not, I fear.

I thought this scripture was interesting because when we “dwell in the shelter of the Most High”, we “will rest”. This is a promise. We will find rest when we choose to dwell with God. He doesn’t follow us around waiting to pitch His tent wherever we choose to be, we must go to Him. We must go where He is and leave our former dwelling place behind. We can’t continue to live there if we want rest. We have to walk away from the camp we have built to dwell in the shelter of the Most High. What an amazing God we have that He would desire us to be with Him. He builds a place for us to come; a place where we can rest in His shadow, a place of hope and refreshment, a place of peace and love. That is the place God wants us to dwell in, not the dwelling we think we need.

I am so thankful that God desires us. He wants us to come to Him with all that we hold in our hearts. He wants us to dwell with Him and pour out all that causes us pain. He desires to take away our fears and fill us with peace. That is our God. There are times we find ourselves far from Him. But when we come to the place in our lives when we realize our dwelling place is not with Him, leave it all behind and move. Go to God and He will give you rest. Dwell in His tent and find peace. Live in His love and be complete. It’s all about the dwelling place

Leave a Reply

