Enjoy it While You Can

Praise

Praise (Photo credit: Nick Lo)

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.” (Jeremiah 29:11-13 NIV)

There I was, worshipping God with tears gently streaming down my face. My daughter and I got tickets to a concert. We were so excited to see some of our favorite singers, hear their stories and worship with them. Somewhere in the middle of it, I just broke down and cried. I felt so very blessed to be with my girl, worshipping God. I felt so fortunate to have this time with her and the money to buy the tickets. I think it all just hit me. She’s growing up and if I don’t take the opportunity to spend time with her, I’m going to miss my chance. I was completely overwhelmed with a grateful heart.

This school year has been a somber one for me. I realize that this time next year, my babies will be fully engaged in youth group and preteen life. Their bodies will continue to change and their attitudes won’t be as charming. I know there will be many issues to wade through and situations we will have to work out. Their time as innocent little ones is coming to an end as they enter the few short years before adulthood. Maybe I’m being melodramatic, but it weighs on my heart a lot these days. And I carry this sadness because it will all change in a few short months. I’m trying desperately to make the most of the time I have right now for I do not know what the future holds and I have no idea what those teen years will look like for my daughter. I find myself wondering if she’ll want to even spend time with me or if I’ll be pushed aside.

My daughter looked up Jeremiah 29:11 on my phone before the concert. I was reminded that the Lord has a plan for my girl. I pray she will be the kind of girl who seeks the Lord with all her heart. And I hope she chooses to live each day for Him. I have prayed that for her many, many times. But you just don’t know what the future holds. For now, I’ll keep praying, spending time with her and loving her. I will praise the Lord for the opportunities He gives us to be together, side by side worshipping Him. And I will walk through those ugly teen years knowing that the God who brought this little lady into my life will lead and guide us every step of the way.
I have heard it a million times, “It all goes by so fast. Enjoy it while you can.” Those words have become so real to me these days!

Thank you Lord Jesus, for allowing me to be a Mom.
It is such an amazing privilege. It is a blessing and huge responsibility.
I pray I would take every opportunity available to spend time with them.
Help me to always demonstrate Your love to them.
Amen.

Leave a Reply

