Good Morning

morning

morning (Photo credit: katerha)

This is a post from a few years ago. It made me smile so I decided to share. Enjoy!

“Let the morning bring me word of your unfailing love, for I have put my trust in you. Show me the way I should go, for to you I lift up my soul.” (Psalm 143:8)

This has been a week of new beginnings for me and my family. My twins, after attending private Christian school and being homeschooled, have gone off to public school. This was a tough one for me because I have always had them close by. Even when they attended Christian school, it was part time. They schooled twice a week and homeschooled twice a week. When they were in school, I was required to help periodically in their classroom. By having two in the same class, I was there a lot. So, I am not accustomed to just letting them go off every day without having some sort of influence on them. But, this is the path we are on right now. And when I was praying about it, the Lord reminded me that it’s easy to be a Christian among Christians. It’s a much harder thing to be one among non-believers.

As you can imagine, I have been a tad anxious about my kids going off all day long. They give me little information about their day. And for the most part they are really enjoying their new found freedom. They enjoy all the benefits that come with a public education. But they are also confronted with the reality that they are different. They are responsible for their behavior. They are expected to act in a certain manner even when everyone else is not acting appropriately. I did tell them that there is no teacher led prayer in school and let them decide if they were going to pray before eating lunch each day. I told them that there are many children around them that will not understand what they are doing and that some children may even laugh at them. But today, when I asked if they had prayed at lunch, they both said yes. Then my son told me that there are a lot of kids that know God, they just don’t pray. I found this interesting because that speaks of many people that wear the name Christian. They know of God, but they don’t talk to Him. That’s a discussion for another blog.

Now to the point of today’s post. I woke up several times last night. I guess I’m still having some anxiety about them being gone all day. But this morning, when the alarm woke me up, the song playing was “Awesome God”. How cool is that?? God knew my anxious thoughts and quieted them from the moment I woke up. I didn’t even ask. He just reminded me of the fact that “He reigns from heaven above.” He reigns with “wisdom, power and love”. Had I forgotten that God loves my kids? Isn’t He watching over them each day? He knows what they need. He knows what they will encounter. He knows every detail. I don’t need to smother them. I need to let them be the light they truly are.

As if that song wasn’t enough to calm my fears, I opened my bible and read…”Let the morning bring me word of you unfailing love…” God is simply amazing!! The Lord knew what I needed as soon as I opened my eyes this morning. He surrounded me with reminders that He is able to take care of each and every circumstance I am worried about. He let me hear it first thing this morning. And bringing the point home, He showed me in His word. My prayer time began with praises again of how awesome God is. He is able to be with my children throughout the day. He will guide them and give them wisdom. He will allow them to be a blessing to those they come in contact with. But most of all, He will allow them to become more dependent on Him and less on me. This morning I was reminded of a God who loves me enough to surround me with His presence even before I climb out of bed. He’s got this. I just need to put my trust in Him.

Leave a Reply

