Prayer Warrior Wednesday

Jesus in Pray

Jesus in Pray (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer.” (Romans 12:12 NIV)

I haven’t had much opportunity to write lately. I’ve started a new job and am working to balance everything on my plate. I find myself longing to write but find other things have to take priority. When I do write, I find I am hurried and feel my writing isn’t what I’d like to be.

I started working part time for a ministry. One of my responsibilites is to answer the phone and help with anything the caller needs. Generally they want to buy books or request help with thier finances. Every so often, well, more often than I expected, I get to pray with someone. It’s usually someone who is feeling overwhelmed and upset. I got a call from someone like that yesterday. She shared her story and I listened. I arranged for the practical help she needed but before we hung up, I asked her if I could pray with her. She was so appreciative. And I was so thankful for the opportunity to minister.

Whether it’s through writing or praying, I have realized we live among the broken. Our prayer focus this week is for the hurting. That’s such a broad word. Some are hurting in their relationships. Others are sick and tired of the struggle. Many are dealing with loss while others are feeling overwhelmed by circumstances. It seems we are surrounded by hurting people who simply need someone to pray for them.

Lord,

Thank you for the opportunities you give us to pray for one another. At times, we are your hands and feet to a hurting world. Help us to be sensitive to the needs of those we come in contact with. Show us how to minister. Give us the words to pray. Lead us to those who need a touch from You.

Amen

Leave a Reply

