A Tree in a Garden

path of life

path of life (Photo credit: AlicePopkorn)

I recently had a very interesting discussion with my teenager. These days I find myself talking more and more as if my time for making an impact on him is short. I have this fear I will have forgotten to tell him something and he will be ill-equipped to deal with circumstances as he gets older. I guess it comes from my need to educate myself on everything. In my opinion, the better informed you are, the more qualified you are to make decisions. So, at every turn, I find myself rambling about one subject or another. My son listens and interjects his views making his mother happy that he seems to be listening.

Our discussion last week had to do with stepping over the line. Where is the line? How far can you step over? And why is the line there anyway? You see, some kids at school were asking questions about something I had no knowledge of. As we discussed the act they were inquiring about, it became apparent this act had demonic implications. The interesting thing was that he was intrigued by these acts because they appealed to his intellect. He is a smart boy and the enemy works hard to tempt and has succeeded at times to lead him astray. He has made ungodly choices as we all do at times. Thankfully, the season for disobedience was short. And so we talked about the enemy and his schemes. But we also talked about our humanness which sparks us to do the wrong thing. In fact, we don’t even have to do the wrong thing we simply have to be intrigued by it. It holds our attention and keeps our focus off of God. Isn’t that the enemy’s plan?

“The Lord God made all kinds of trees grow out of the ground—trees that were pleasing to the eye and good for food. In the middle of the garden were the tree of life and the tree of the knowledge of good and evil.” (Genesis 2:9 NIV)

This whole conversation reminded me of the tree in the garden. After all these years, we are still the same. We seek that which we should not have. We spend our time pining over that which is bad for us. We forget to look at all we’ve been given. Just like Adam and Eve, we are tempted by the things we think God is withholding from us. We don’t trust His provision. We forget He loves us deeply. We desire something other than His gifts. We haven’t changed a bit.

Our conversation ended with me sharing that God has plans for each one of us, if we would only seek His will. When we desire a closer relationship with Him, we are completely fulfilled. Our God is only good. But, we are easily led astray. Just as Adam and Eve looked at a tree in a garden, we look at the forbidden instead of the abundantly permitted.

Leave a Reply

