Prayer Warrior Wednesday

praying

praying (Photo credit: mlcbube)

“Blessed are those who mourn, for they will be comforted.” (Matthew 5:4 NIV)

With the tragedy that happened in our country last week I thought it would be appropriate to pray for those who are grieving. Grieving is one of those things we all have experienced at one time or another. And I think there are different degrees of grieving. Regardless, it is a painful process by which you heal.

I am thankful the Lord comforts us when we mourn. Sometimes it’s through the support of friends and family. Other times it’s from complete strangers who seem to appear in our lives for the very purpose of comforting us. Still there are times the Lord uses scripture, music or some other means to ease our pain. Never does a day go by where our Father in heaven doesn’t see the pain we are feeling and bring healing. Each day is a step toward restoration.

I would encourage everyone today to choose someone who is grieving and pray for them today. It may be someone you know personally. If you don’t have anyone in mind, choose the name of someone who was killed at Sandy Hook Elementary and pray for their family. You will probably never meet them but your prayer will be heard by God and He will answer that prayer.

Lord,

I thank you for the opportunity to pray. I thank you for Your love for us even when our days are dark. I pray for those who mourn. I pray for You to comfort and heal. I especially pray for my sister Stacy. May you give her strength as she walks through this heart-wrenching time in her life. I pray You would be her comfort and that You would remind her daily of Your love for her. Be with her and her family.

Amen

Leave a Reply

