Quietly

Christ in Gethsemane (Christus in Gethsemane),...

Christ in Gethsemane (Christus in Gethsemane), oil painting by Heinrich Ferdinand Hofmann (Heinrich Hofmann). The original is at the Riverside Church (Riverside Church, New York City). (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

As I looked around, I didn’t recognize the houses. Oh sure, they were large, elaborate residences not unlike the others in that familiar neighborhood. But they weren’t the same houses. What I quickly realized is that I was not where I had set out to be. And since I don’t have a GPS in my car, the only choice I had was to go back to where I came from. So, I turned around and went back because I was going in the wrong direction. Eventually, I found my way back to the starting point and headed to my destination once again.

You see, I was trying to avoid traffic. I had a plan in my head but had become distracted. I had traveled those roads thousands of times but because I wasn’t paying attention, I didn’t navigate correctly. I’m thankful I realized it before I became too lost. As I continued on to my destination, I chuckled at my mistake.

I read these words this morning, “But Jesus often withdrew to lonely places and prayed.” (Luke 5:16 NIV). Jesus went off by Himself to meet with His Father. The crowds of people were pushing and shoving to get to Him. There were demands on His time. I imagine He was often exhausted and needed a break. I do too. I need time to myself in order to refocus. When I don’t I find my heart searching for the wrong things. I seek those things that are not of God. There is something about time spent alone with the Lord that helps calm my spirit and quiet my anxieties. And if I don’t take that time, I run in the wrong direction.

With the Christmas season upon us, it’s so easy to get turned around. It’s easy to set our minds on the unimportant things and forget the Gift we were given. It can be overwhelming to keep up with the demands before us. We have shopping to do, gifts to deliver, and parties to attend. Our schedules are busting with little time to get it all done. But I encourage you; get alone with Jesus every morning. Focus on the Lord. Take some time to be still before Him. Listen to His voice and be refreshed. The enemy wants to take a joyous season and turn it around to be something dreadful. But Jesus beckons us to find a quiet place to sit with Him and pray.

4 thoughts on “Quietly

Leave a Reply

