A Lesson in Humility

Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in Your sight, O LORD, my rock and my Redeemer. (Psalm 19:14 NASB)

I couldn’t believe the words came out of my mouth. It happened before I had my coffee. It happened because I am not a morning person. But still, I was even stunned that I spoke such awful words to my son. I won’t share what those words were because frankly, I’m too ashamed. Honestly, I felt like a horrible mother. And I didn’t know if the words I used would have a lasting effect on Jonah.

It happened last week and my heart still hurts when I think of the impact those words may have had on Jonah. He was as stunned as I was. I guess that’s a good thing meaning it’s not a common occurrence. But still, it was pretty dreadful. I knew he was taken aback because he just kept looking at me in disbelief. He didn’t offer a refute. He didn’t say much of anything. He just looked at me and I knew I had hurt his heart.

When Jonah got home that day, we had a talk. I apologized profusely, unwilling to make excuses for my behavior. I had spent an extended amount of time in confession to the Lord and I wanted my son to know I was wrong. I asked for his forgiveness and we talked about where to go from here. He told me how bad I made him feel but that he forgave me. Forgiveness never felt so sweet!

I am thankful that Jonah has such a tender heart and finds it easy to forgive. I am also thankful that God redeemed this situation. Jonah saw that I am far from perfect. He also saw that we all have good days and bad days. Mostly he saw his Mom humbly asking for forgiveness. This was a lesson in humility for both of us. I don’t know that there is any other way to teach it other than by example.

2 thoughts on “A Lesson in Humility

  1. You know, I grew up in an abusive home, which my mother and I spoke about this weekend. Although she admitted that the situation was abusive, and she forgot about me sometimes or expected me to be tough enough to handle everything, the most hurtful part of the conversation was when she sort of mocked people who apologize. But all I really wanted was an apology. I think Jonah’s going to be just fine. And I think you’re a great mom… because it isn’t that great moms don’t make mistakes; it’s that they handle mistakes well, modeling the humility they hope their children will have when they also make mistakes. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

