Cry Out to Jesus

“In my distress I called upon the LORD, And cried to my God for help; He heard my voice out of His temple, And my cry for help before Him came into His ears.” (Psalm 18:6 NASB)

Yesterday I told a little of the story of Jonah’s hospitalization when he was four. I shared how God had used that experience to help Jonah see God has a purpose for him on earth. I’d like to tell you the part of the story Jonah did know. It has to do with a song playing while I sat in the drive-thru lane of a fast food restaurant.

The first few days that Jonah was in the hospital were a blur. The doctors were giving me an exuberant amount of information. He had stabilized, so they were running tests to be sure they knew what they were dealing with. My husband would come spend his days at the hospital while I spent the evenings and nights with Jonah. He would relieve me late morning and I would go home, shower and spend time with our other two. I would usually have to nap between laundry, cleaning etc. It was exhausting to say the least, but we did it.

After a few days when things had settled down, I was headed home and decided to stop for fast-food. I distinctly remember sitting in the take-out lane when I heard the song Cry out to Jesus by Third Day. I had heard the song before but on this particular day, I really heard the words. They spoke to my spirit in a way I had never experienced before. You see, in all of the chaos, I was overwhelmed but didn’t know it. I hadn’t cried over any of it. I had just plugged away doing what needed to be done as we muddled through this emergency. I had not taken any time to process anything. The Lord knew that. He knew how traumatic this whole ordeal was even when I didn’t and He gave me that song to remind me to cry out to Him.

Over the years I’ve told Jonah that story. I wanted him to understand that God spoke to my heart telling me that he would be okay. I wanted Jonah to know that God made Himself known although I didn’t seek Him out. He was pulling me close even though I had not made the effort. A Father knows His children. Every time we hear that song, Jonah still reminds me that’s the song God gave me when he was sick.

Someone asked me yesterday why I write a blog. I love to write. I enjoy it. The teacher inside of me comes out when I write. But mostly I write because one of my prayers has been to see the Lord in each circumstance no matter how joyous or difficult. I have overlooked His presence so many times. My hope is that by writing my experiences down and putting them out there for others to read, others will begin to search for Jesus in their daily lives. I want so much for this blog to be a source of encouragement. And I want it to be about God and not me. I hope I am achieving that.

Leave a Reply

