Something Extraordinary

For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand so that we would walk in them. (Eph. 2:10 NASB)

Jonah and I had a beautiful view of a lake while waiting for the doctor in the exam room this week. He mentioned how pretty it was and as we looked around I showed him the hospital he had been in when he just turned 4. I told him that he would go for walks around his floor and look out at that very lake every day. He then asked for me to tell him the story.

It happened nearly seven years ago. Jonah had his very first asthma attack in the hospital. We had taken him to the emergency room earlier that day because he was having trouble breathing. They gave him some breathing treatments that helped but decided to hold him overnight for observation. There were no rooms available at this particular hospital, so they transported us to another. Shortly after our arrival, it happened. Jonah had an attack. He couldn’t breathe. The nurse called for the doctor who happened to be there on his rounds. He came in, ordered a constant treatment of Albuterol and proceeded to ask me a thousand questions. As I watched my little boy gasp for air, the doctor looked at me and said, “We have to get him to the main hospital. If he gets worse, there’s nothing we can do for him here.” I looked at the nurse and she said “I’ve called for a helicopter.”

That was the beginning of an incredibly long week. He was safely transported to the other hospital by ambulance where he received the treatment he needed. He was in ICU for six days. It was an extremely rough week; not one I speak of often. But since he asked, I told him the story. He knew he was in the hospital but he didn’t know the seriousness of it. After I told him the story, with tears in my eyes, he looked at me and said, “You mean I almost died?” My heart sank.

This was a God-moment between Jonah and me. After confirming that, yes indeed he almost died I told him that God chose to save his life because He had a plan for him. I told him that if God saw fit to keep him here it was for a reason. All afternoon he kept mentioning the fact that God has a purpose for him. He kept wondering what that was. Finally, I told him that the only way to find out what God had for him was to ask. I told him to pray about it. I didn’t have the answers, but God did.

I thought of that conversation when our pastor asked us to share stories of a time when we were certain God had intervened. This talk with Jonah didn’t last longer than a few minutes. I was not expecting such a conversation. I had never intended to have such a serious discussion with my soon-to-be eleven year old. No, I was just keeping a doctor’s appointment for him. But, God took an uneventful day and intervened. He came in and caused my son to think about the life he has. The reality of death sparked a desire in Jonah to figure out what his purpose is. This short conversation will draw Jonah closer to God because I believe he will continue to pray about this.

I am constantly amazed that God can take an ordinary day and make it something extraordinary.

2 thoughts on “Something Extraordinary

  1. Jonesingafter40 says:

    From a mother’s standpoint this was heart-wrenching to read. First to experience such a trauma with your child and then to have such an honest moment with him. These moments are what Godly parenting are all about. I love your perspective.

    Like

    • Thanks Stacey. I honestly don’t talk about this much even though it’s been so long. My poor husband has only heard bits and pieces over the years. I am truly thankful this unexpected moment came. Jonah often struggles to find his place. It was nice to remind him that he has a purpose…we all do:)

      Like

Leave a Reply

