A Redeemer

I am redeemed, You set me free
So I’ll shake off theses heavy chains
Wipe away every stain now I’m not who I used to be
I am redeemed

These are the words running through my head today. The name of the song is “Redeemed” by Big Daddy Weave. As they play over and over in my head, I smile. I smile because I feel free today.

Recently I had an encounter with a former friend. I have to admit I was taken by surprise when I realized I was no longer holding a grudge. I was no longer unforgiving. I was actually excited to see this person I was once so angry with. What happened? I guess those prayers for a forgiving heart were answered. The thing is, I didn’t even notice until I saw that person again. And as I walked away from that discussion, I felt free. I didn’t feel weighed down. I didn’t find myself forced to be nice. I was genuinely happy to see this person and have a conversation.

I looked up redeem and this is what I found in Merriam-Webster online dictionary:

to free from what distresses or harms: as

a: to free from captivity by payment of ransom

b: to extricate from or help to overcome something detrimental

The reality is, unforgiveness can be detrimental to your health both spiritually and physically. Redemption isn’t a onetime event, it’s a continuous action. Jesus steps in daily, sometimes minute by minute, to redeem us from the sin that tries to drag us down. He helps us overcome that which will hurt us.

Although I am so thankful for the freedom I feel today, I know it is only the grace of the Lord that brings me here. I could certainly talk myself into being justified in my lack of forgiveness (and have). But somewhere along the way, Jesus healed me. He came in when I wasn’t even aware and changed my heart. That is something I couldn’t do on my own. I needed a Redeemer.

Thank you Lord for redeeming me once again!

Leave a Reply

