Give and Take

“Come to Me, all who are weary and heavy-laden, and I will give you rest.” (Matthew 11:28 NASB)

I woke up Monday morning feeling kind of blue. The kids were back to school. My husband was back to work. Yes, life was picking up just where we left off. We had taken a week long break from the hustle and bustle, but now here we are back in the thick of it. Ho Hum. I was gloomy and sad that our vacation was now behind us.

I really wanted to spend some time with the Lord on Monday. It was as though He was beckoning me to spend some time quietly reflecting. I read my Bible. I did some of my Bible study and then I got down on my knees and prayed. I went before Him with my heart and poured it all out before Him. I find that the Lord is the only one (besides my husband) I feel completely free to be honest with. I guess that’s a good thing. I must feel extremely secure in that relationshipJ

As I laid my requests before Him, I noticed something. My relationship with God is give and take. I give Him my anger and take forgiveness. I hand over my worries and He responds with peace. I spent the time on my knees making exchanges with the Lord. No matter what my heart was carrying inside, I unloaded it and God replaced it with His love. The trials are there. The struggles remain. But when I walk through tough situations navigating the storms of life, He gives me peace, if I ask for it.

Minute by minute the Lord desires to take our burdens. We carry them until they cripple us but we won’t give them up. Is it pride? Is it independence? I’m not sure but it seems I find myself in the same place holding on to those things I should be handing over. Have I forgotten that God loves my children more than I do? Has He ever neglected to provide me with everything I need? Has God led me on a road He was unwilling to travel with me? The answer to all of those questions is, NO. So why is it, I am unwilling to part with those things that weigh me down?

Sometimes I think I have it all together. I have it all figured out. I have all the answers. It can become very easy for me to just do it all myself without any guidance from God. That’s not what He wants. He wants to lead. I guess for me it is a combination of pride, independence and self righteousness that keeps me from depending on Him. The thing I love about God is that you can always go back to Him. He is always waiting to take my heavy burdens and give me His love.

Thank you Lord, that I don’t have to carry this heavy load. You desire to relieve me of my burdens and replace them with your love.

2 thoughts on “Give and Take

Leave a Reply

